This is investment research, not personal financial advice.

Bubs Australia (ASX:BUB) closed 30% higher at A$0.13 on 7 September after three infant-formula ranges received permanent US Food and Drug Administration authorisation. The move added A$26.8 million to the company's equity value in one session. It ended a regulatory limbo that had hung over a US business responsible for almost three-fifths of FY2026 revenue (ASX 2026; Bubs FDA 2026).

The relief is justified. Bubs can now plan around lawful, continuing access rather than temporary enforcement discretion. Yet the post-announcement price asks a harder question than whether tins can remain on US shelves. Bubs entered the new regulatory regime with negative reported EBITDA, A$15.1 million of operating cash outflow, A$36.3 million of inventory and an auditor's material-uncertainty paragraph on going concern. Permanent permission fixes one assumption in that paragraph. It does not fix the cash cycle.

Our reaction verdict is roughly proportionate. The authorisation removes a severe outcome from the distribution, and Bubs already has enough US sales for that removal to matter. At A$0.13, though, the market also assumes that regulatory permanence will lead to higher retail velocity, recovering gross margin and less cash trapped in inventory. Those links remain unproven.

The FDA removed the cliff, not the cash drain

The trigger document is short and consequential. Bubs said the FDA had permanently authorised Bubs Goat, Bubs 365 Day Grass Fed and Bubs Essential. The company described itself as the only Australian infant-formula brand, and one of a limited number of international manufacturers, with this US pathway. It also pointed to more than 10,000 stores and possible product innovation and private-label work (Bubs FDA 2026).

The independent check supports the central fact. The FDA's current list of non-exempt infant formulas names all three Bubs products. The agency also warns that inclusion is not an endorsement; it records products marketed under the applicable rules (FDA list 2026). That distinction matters. The event is a regulatory-duration change, not a consumer-demand award.

Before this decision, Bubs operated through the shortage-era route created after the 2022 Abbott recall and the disruption at its Sturgis plant. The FDA allowed specified products to enter under enforcement discretion, then created a transition plan for manufacturers working towards full compliance. Its transition table identifies Bubs Australia Ltd., the same three formulas and receipt of the company's submission by the 15 July 2025 deadline (FDA transition 2026).

The equity repricing can be framed as the value of removing a regulatory cliff. The A$0.03 share-price increase multiplied by 894.13 million shares equals A$26.82 million. That is a large addition beside the A$9.41 million of cash Bubs held at 30 June. It is smaller than the A$65.8 million of FY2026 US revenue whose continuity was at stake. The tape did not treat the decision as a new business appearing overnight. It assigned a higher probability to the existing business surviving and compounding.

That mechanism separates this event from a launch. Bubs was already trading in all 50 states. The FDA decision protects duration, lowers a retailer's regulatory uncertainty and may make longer commercial commitments easier. It does not disclose new store orders, a Women, Infants and Children contract, a private-label customer or a margin uplift. Bubs itself says any private-label expansion still faces regulatory, technical and commercial milestones (Bubs FDA 2026).

Permission was scarce because the US market is concentrated

Infant formula combines consumer branding with pharmaceutical-like production discipline. A supplier needs nutritional evidence, manufacturing controls, traceability, quality systems and a chain that can survive inspections and recalls. The work is slow. Bubs told shareholders in earlier updates that it had spent more than three years on the permanent pathway. The FDA list confirms that the outcome is not merely a company label applied to the old temporary arrangement.

Scarcity has strategic value because the US category remains concentrated. Incumbents benefit from manufacturing scale, hospital and paediatric relationships, household recognition, shelf position and state WIC contracts. Roughly half of US formula is purchased through WIC, while Bubs has not disclosed participation in that channel. Permanent authorisation opens the field, but the largest volume pool still has a separate commercial gate.

The demographic backdrop offers little free growth. The CDC counted 3.629 million US births in 2024, up 1% from 2023, while the general fertility rate fell 1% to 53.8 births per 1,000 women aged 15 to 44 (CDC 2025). Australia registered 292,318 births, up 1.9%, but its fertility rate fell to 1.481 births per woman (ABS 2025). Bubs therefore needs share and mix, not a baby boom.

Regulatory access can still improve the quality of those share gains. A retailer deciding how much shelf space to grant a small foreign supplier cares about legal continuity and supply reliability. Permanent status removes the date at which a temporary regime might end. It also gives management a firmer base for product submissions. The moat is the accumulated evidence, manufacturing validation and ongoing compliance capability.

There is an important limit. The FDA can inspect, sample and act when a formula fails safety or nutritional standards. ByHeart's product was marked under recall and investigation on the same marketed-formula page when we fetched it. Permanent access is renewable only through continued performance. One quality failure can reverse years of commercial progress.

Ten thousand shelves are only the middle of the journey

Bubs manufactures and distributes infant formula, adult goat milk powder and related nutrition products. Infant formula supplied A$97.3 million of FY2026 revenue. By customer location, the United States contributed A$65.8 million, China A$21.4 million, Australia A$18.3 million and other markets A$6.4 million. The US share reached 58.8%, up from 9.0% in FY2022 (Bubs FY26 2026; Bubs FY22 2022).

The commercial engine has four stages: regulatory permission, shelf availability, consumer checkout and cash collection. Bubs has now secured the first and built much of the second. Its reported network spans Amazon, Target, Walmart and other national or regional retailers. More doors increase the addressable shelf space, but the company does not disclose same-store unit velocity, reorder rates or US segment profit. Store count is a distribution statistic, not unit economics.

Its product position is narrower than mass-market formula. Management reports around 1% of total US infant formula, 8% of premium natural formula and 20% of goat infant formula. These are company-supplied measures, not audited market-share data, so they deserve less confidence than the filed revenue. They still describe a sensible niche: goat and premium-natural products can earn attention that a small supplier would not receive in undifferentiated formula (Bubs presentation 2026).

The closest listed comparison shows what mature premium economics look like. The a2 Milk Company reported a 46.1% FY2025 gross margin, A$1.90 billion equivalent of group revenue in New Zealand dollars and A$1.06 billion of net cash. Its infant-nutrition business has scale, brand spending and balance-sheet capacity that Bubs lacks. The comparison is not a valuation shortcut. It shows that a premium label becomes financially valuable only after distribution and consumer preference produce repeatable margin and cash (a2 Milk 2025).

Bubs also describes an integrated path from milk sourcing through spray drying, blending, canning and distribution, with tin-level traceability. The FDA result gives independent weight to the quality-system claim. Yet management is still moving from a single-source chain towards a broader supply network. FY2026 required A$3.0 million of temporary airfreight to restore service, while inventory rose 81%. The manufacturing moat is credible on compliance and unfinished on resilience.

The checkout tells a less settled story

Five years of filed accounts show both the US opportunity and the cost of reaching it. Revenue recovered from A$60.1 million in FY2023 to A$111.9 million in FY2026. The earnings and cash pattern is much less orderly.

Year Revenue (A$m) EBIT (A$m) NPAT (A$m) Operating cash flow (A$m) Cash (A$m) Computed ROIC Computed net debt (cash) (A$m)
FY2022 89.3 (10.5) (11.4) (9.4) 16.3 -13.7% (11.4)
FY2023 60.1 (107.5) (108.4) (46.5) 26.1 -536.8% (21.6)
FY2024 79.7 (20.6) (21.0) (26.3) 17.5 -78.1% (10.5)
FY2025 102.5 4.5 5.5 6.1 17.4 17.3% (16.5)
FY2026 111.9 (3.4) (4.6) (15.1) 9.4 -7.5% 6.5

Revenue, EBIT, NPAT, cash and operating cash flow come from the respective annual filings (Bubs FY22 2022; Bubs FY23 2023; Bubs FY24 2024; Bubs FY25 2025; Bubs FY26 2026). ROIC and net debt are author calculations. ROIC uses EBIT after any cash tax as NOPAT and year-end invested capital defined as equity plus borrowings and lease liabilities minus cash. Net debt uses the same debt items less cash.

The FY2023 ROIC figure is economically distorted. That year included a A$36.2 million impairment, a A$27.3 million inventory provision and a large credit-loss charge; the year-end invested-capital denominator also collapsed after those write-downs. A negative 536.8% does not describe a steady-state return. It records capital destruction during a reset. FY2024 remained loss-making, and FY2025 was the lone positive year in this five-year series.

FY2026 then broke the apparent turn. Revenue rose 9.1%, led by 24% US growth, but gross margin fell from 47.8% to 39.8%. Reported EBITDA moved from positive A$5.25 million to negative A$1.83 million. Management's underlying EBITDA was A$5.30 million after adjustments for airfreight, a regulatory reset, tariffs, restructuring and a legal recovery (Bubs FY26 2026; Bubs commentary 2026).

Not all adjustments belong in owner earnings. Airfreight tied to a temporary inventory repair and the A$3.87 million regulatory reset may recede. The A$0.96 million of non-Australian tariffs is harder to treat as exceptional without a policy or sourcing change. Starting with reported EBITDA, adding the temporary airfreight, regulatory and restructuring costs, retaining the tariff expense and removing the A$0.825 million legal recovery produces analyst-adjusted EBITDA of about A$4.34 million. That bridge is below the company measure and before working capital.

The owner-cash bridge is harsher. FY2026 NPAT was negative A$4.62 million. Adding A$1.57 million of depreciation, amortisation and non-cash share payments still leaves a loss before working capital. Inventory consumed A$16.21 million as the balance increased to A$36.27 million. Receivables consumed another A$1.97 million, partly offset by higher payables. Operating cash outflow reached A$15.14 million; purchases of plant and intangible assets added A$1.21 million. Author-computed free cash flow was therefore about negative A$16.35 million.

That is the gap between checkout and cash. Permanent access may help retailer confidence and demand planning, but approval cannot make old inventory turn or change payment terms by itself.

A licence can be a moat while the brand remains unproven

Bubs has three potential defences. The FDA pathway is the strongest and has widened. The premium goat niche is useful but contestable. Manufacturing traceability is credible, while supply-chain redundancy remains a work in progress.

The regulatory asset took years, scientific evidence and manufacturing scrutiny. A new small entrant cannot copy it with advertising. It protects access to one of the world's largest formula markets and can support retailer negotiations. Its economic worth depends on whether Bubs earns more than the continuing compliance cost and capital tied up behind each tin.

The brand evidence is mixed. Ten thousand stores, national accounts and high ratings on Amazon point to consumer acceptance. Yet total category share is around 1%, FY2026 marketing spending was A$15.0 million and three customers generated A$51.5 million, or about 46%, of group revenue. Those retailers may value a differentiated product and a second source. They also possess much more bargaining power than Bubs.

Customer concentration links the moat to cash. A large account can accelerate growth, then create sudden inventory and promotion swings when orders change. China provided a prior warning: consumer demand and customer orders diverged while excess channel inventory was worked down. US permanence reduces the risk of a regulatory stop, but it increases the importance of forecasting and account-level discipline.

Management has relevant experience. Joe Coote became chief executive in July 2025 after senior dairy and infant-nutrition roles, and the board added US consumer, operations and regulatory expertise. The change also means the chief executive, chair, chief financial officer and committee leadership turned over within a short period. No key-management short-term incentives were paid for FY2026, which aligns pay with the weak reported and cash outcomes. Execution evidence under the new team is still limited to roughly one year (Bubs FY26 2026).

Capital history tempers the compounding story. Shares on issue rose from about 612.8 million at FY2022 year-end to 894.1 million at FY2026, a 45.9% increase. Across the same five fiscal years, simple operating cash flow less purchases of plant and intangible assets was cumulatively about negative A$93.5 million. Gross proceeds from equity issues were about A$80.4 million. Growth has been financed by outside capital as well as customers.

The balance sheet still carries a date

At 30 June 2026, Bubs held A$9.41 million of cash, had drawn A$10.0 million of bank borrowings and carried A$5.92 million of lease liabilities. The undrawn part of the bank facility was A$10.0 million. Cash plus that headroom was A$19.41 million, which is a liquidity cushion rather than surplus capital because FY2026 operating cash use alone was A$15.14 million (Bubs FY26 2026).

The inventory balance deserves special attention. It represented half of total assets, and KPMG treated valuation as a key audit matter. Formula has expiry dates, changing regulations and market-specific labels. A large stock position can protect service levels, but it can also turn a demand forecast error into a write-down. FY2023's provision and FY2024's reversal show how violently that estimate can move reported profit.

KPMG issued an unmodified opinion on the FY2026 accounts and separately included a material uncertainty related to going concern. The directors' cash forecast assumed two things: permanent FDA authorisation and extension of the bank facility beyond its current expiry. The 7 September event resolves the first assumption. The facility, which matures on 31 August 2027, remains the dated item (Bubs FY26 2026).

The authorisation may improve the refinancing conversation because it protects the largest revenue stream. The lender will still see negative operating cash flow, weak reported margins and working-capital volatility. If H1 FY2027 consumes cash again, refinancing terms or new equity could matter more per share than another revenue milestone.

Incremental ROIC captures the same warning. From FY2025 to FY2026, computed invested capital increased from A$26.0 million to A$45.5 million, mostly through inventory, debt and leases, while NOPAT moved from positive A$4.5 million to negative A$3.4 million. The resulting author-computed incremental ROIC is negative 40.5%. The precise percentage is sensitive to a small denominator and one-off costs. The direction is not: more capital produced less operating profit.

Thirteen cents prices permanence and a margin recovery

At A$0.13, the author-computed market capitalisation is A$116.24 million. Adding A$6.51 million of net debt including lease liabilities gives enterprise value of A$122.75 million. That equals 1.10 times FY2026 revenue and 28.3 times the A$4.34 million analyst-adjusted EBITDA bridge. Reported EBITDA was negative, so it cannot support a meaningful multiple.

A five-year enterprise DCF is the main valuation frame because current statutory earnings do not represent the claimed steady state. The model starts with FY2026 revenue of A$111.86 million, subtracts tax when operating profit becomes positive, capital expenditure and incremental working capital, then discounts operating free cash flow. It deducts A$6.51 million of net debt and divides by 894.13 million shares. No value is assigned to private-label work without a disclosed customer or economics.

Case Revenue path and FY2031 margin Discount and terminal inputs DCF point Range per share
Severe downside Initial 10% contraction; FY2031 EBITDA margin 1.5% 16% discount rate; no terminal growth A$0.00 A$0.00-A$0.02
Bear 2%-5% annual growth; FY2031 EBITDA margin 6% 14.5% discount rate; 1.5% terminal growth A$0.01 A$0.01-A$0.04
Base 16% growth moderating to 8%; FY2031 margin 12% 12% discount rate; 2.5% terminal growth A$0.09 A$0.09-A$0.16
Bull 24% growth moderating to 10%; FY2031 margin 16% 10.5% discount rate; 3% terminal growth A$0.23 A$0.23-A$0.35

These are author estimates, not company forecasts. The range around each DCF point reflects an FY2029 earnings-power cross-check and changes to working-capital intensity and terminal multiples. In the base case, FY2029 revenue reaches about A$165.7 million and EBITDA about A$14.9 million. A proxy after-tax profit of A$9.2 million capitalised at 12 to 16 times, less current net debt, gives A$0.12-A$0.16 per share. The bull cross-check gives A$0.27-A$0.34.

The reverse DCF is more revealing than the labels. Holding the base revenue path, working-capital assumption, 12% discount rate and 2.5% terminal growth constant, the A$0.13 share price requires FY2031 EBITDA margin of about 15.5%. That is close to the higher case and far above FY2026 reported performance. The current price does not merely assume approval continuity. It assumes Bubs converts the permission into scaled economics.

Two variables dominate. If FY2031 margin reaches only 9% rather than 12%, the DCF falls below the quoted price even with strong revenue growth. If working capital absorbs 30% of incremental sales instead of 20%, value also contracts because shelf growth keeps consuming cash. Margin and inventory turns matter more than another headline store count.

The next two reports will separate access from economics

The positive case is coherent. Permanent status protects a A$65.8 million US revenue base, strengthens the case for longer retailer commitments and removes one of the two explicit assumptions in the auditor's going-concern discussion. Distribution already exists, so higher account velocity can flow through existing commercial infrastructure. Airfreight and regulatory-reset costs may recede. The FDA also wants a less concentrated supply base, which gives a compliant challenger strategic relevance.

The anti-thesis is equally concrete. Bubs may have won scarce permission without gaining pricing power. Large retailers can use a new approved supplier to diversify supply while retaining economics for themselves. A small brand may need sustained marketing and promotions to defend its shelf. Private label could add volume but lower margin and demand more working capital. If tariffs, logistics or compliance are normal costs of being an international challenger, the underlying EBITDA bridge overstates earning power.

H1 FY2027 is the first useful checkpoint. Gross margin needs to move above 42% to show that FY2026's 39.8% was a disruption rather than a reset. Operating cash flow needs to stop consuming liquidity. Inventory needs to grow slower than revenue. US growth below 15% would imply that new distribution and permanent status are not producing the retail velocity embedded in the current valuation.

The refinancing clock supplies the second checkpoint. If no facility extension or replacement is disclosed by 31 March 2027, the 31 August maturity becomes the dominant balance-sheet fact. A better gross margin paired with another inventory build would still leave the owner-cash question open.

Private label belongs outside the base case until management names a customer, volume commitment, margin, regulatory path and working-capital terms. WIC participation also remains an unpriced strategic possibility rather than a current fact. Both could change the addressable market. Neither appears in the evidence supporting this valuation.

Source notes: confidence, gaps and one market-data discrepancy

Verification is high for the event, company identity, market move and filed financial history. We fetched the trigger release, the FDA's current marketed-formula list, the transition-plan record, five annual filings, the FY2026 commentary and presentation, the peer result and demographic sources. The Finance API resolved Bubs Australia Limited and returned ASX filings and events, but its latest accepted daily price ended on 21 August 2026 and its filing feed ended on 4 August. We therefore used it for identity and discovery, not the 7 September market snapshot or trigger verification.

The ASX company page showed A$0.13, a 30% move and 894.13 million shares. Its displayed A$89.41 million market capitalisation still reflected the prior A$0.10 price. We did not copy that stale figure. The A$116.24 million value in this article is the author calculation of price multiplied by shares. This discrepancy is disclosed because the difference changes every valuation multiple.

The largest missing information is US unit economics. Bubs does not publish revenue or gross profit per store, same-store velocity, customer-level margins, retailer promotion funding, formula-level retention or regional operating profit. The scenario ranges therefore depend on group margin and working-capital assumptions. The terminal value supplies much of the base and higher DCF cases, which makes those ranges sensitive to small changes in discount rate and margin.

The market has correctly stopped pricing Bubs as though US access could simply expire under a temporary regime. At 13 cents, it has gone further: it prices a business that begins turning regulatory scarcity into margin before liquidity becomes the story again. The Q1 and H1 FY2027 cash and inventory disclosures will show whether those are the same transition.

References

  • ASX 2026: ASX company page for Bubs Australia Limited, market snapshot and security information, 7 September 2026.
  • Bubs FDA 2026: Bubs Australia Limited, permanent US FDA authorisation announcement, 7 September 2026.
  • Bubs FY26 2026: Bubs Australia Limited, FY2026 Appendix 4E and preliminary final report, 27 August 2026.
  • Bubs commentary 2026: Bubs Australia Limited, FY2026 results commentary, 27 August 2026.
  • Bubs presentation 2026: Bubs Australia Limited, FY2026 results presentation, 27 August 2026.
  • Bubs FY25 2025: Bubs Australia Limited, FY2025 Annual Report, 12 September 2025.
  • Bubs FY24 2024: Bubs Australia Limited, FY2024 Annual Report, 14 October 2024.
  • Bubs FY23 2023: Bubs Australia Limited, FY2023 Annual Report, 7 September 2023.
  • Bubs FY22 2022: Bubs Australia Limited, FY2022 Annual Report, 30 August 2022.
  • FDA list 2026: US Food and Drug Administration, infant formulas marketed in the United States, fetched 7 September 2026.
  • FDA transition 2026: US Food and Drug Administration, enforcement discretion and transition plan for infant-formula manufacturers.
  • CDC 2025: US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Births in the United States, 2024.
  • ABS 2025: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Births, Australia, 2024.
  • a2 Milk 2025: The a2 Milk Company, FY2025 result, 18 August 2025.
  • Bubs halt 2026: Bubs Australia Limited, trading halt pending an FDA update, 4 September 2026.