This is investment research, not personal financial advice.
An acquisition Howmet did not make erased about $11.06 billion from its market value. Howmet Aerospace (NYSE:HWM) dropped 10.70% to $231.53 on 8 September after GE Aerospace agreed to pay $11.75 billion for Consolidated Precision Products, a competing maker of investment castings. Volume was 3.67 times Nasdaq's reported average (Nasdaq 2026).
Howmet disclosed no cancelled order or forecast cut. The transaction is not expected to close until the second half of 2027. What changed was the value the market assigned to a scarce place in the jet-engine supply chain.
The reaction is directionally justified but heavily front-loaded. GE represented 14% of Howmet's first-half 2026 sales, CPP competes in the same constrained casting market, and the buyer agreed to pay roughly 26 times CPP's forecast 2027 EBITDA before expected integration benefits. Those facts weaken the claim that Howmet will retain its full scarcity premium. Yet they do not erase the qualifications, installed programs or cash growth that lifted Howmet's computed return on invested capital from 8.4% in 2021 to 21.6% in 2025. At $231.53, the valuation still requires years of rapid cash growth.
GE paid $11.75 billion; Howmet lost $11.06 billion
GE's announcement explains why Howmet moved. CPP produces investment and precision sand castings in superalloys, titanium, aluminum, magnesium and steel. About 70% of CPP revenue comes from commercial and defense engines; most of the balance comes from missiles and power-generation equipment. GE plans to fund the purchase with $7 billion of cash and new debt, and says the deal will increase adjusted earnings per share and free cash flow in its first year after closing (GE Aerospace 2026; CNBC 2026).
GE values CPP at about 26 times forecast 2027 EBITDA before expected integration benefits, or 18 times after those benefits. The rounded multiples imply roughly $452 million of projected stand-alone 2027 EBITDA and about $653 million including GE's expected benefits. The difference is about $201 million, but GE did not disclose a precise benefit figure.
Howmet's own market value fell by $11.06 billion, equal to 94% of the CPP consideration. The similar amounts do not represent an accounting transfer. GE is not purchasing an asset from Howmet. CPP's capacity was already in the market. GE is changing who controls an enterprise with overlapping casting capacity and how aggressively that capacity may be expanded.
The deal puts a transaction price on an enterprise containing scarce casting capacity, gives a major Howmet customer its own supplier and raises the chance that future GE airfoil work shifts toward captive production. None of those effects requires a near-term revenue loss to reduce the multiple on Howmet's distant cash flows.
Closing is expected in the second half of 2027 and remains subject to regulatory approval. Qualification of new aerospace parts can take years. Existing engine programs, tooling, metallurgy and production approvals do not jump from one foundry to another on signing day. The fall anticipates competitive effects that cannot yet be observed.
CPP changes control of future casting capacity
Investment castings are not generic metal parts. Engine airfoils operate at extreme temperatures and tight tolerances. A supplier must turn difficult alloys into repeatable shapes, control defects, document the process and pass customer and regulatory qualification. A production problem can stop an engine line, while a small improvement in yield can release capacity without a new plant.
That is the bottleneck GE wants to own. The company said demand for airfoils is expected to rise more than 30% by 2030. It plans to combine CPP's manufacturing experience with GE's design data and production system, shortening development cycles and increasing output (GE Aerospace 2026; CNBC 2026). The strategic objective is clear: reduce dependence on external casting capacity and secure the ramp in commercial engines, defense and power generation.
For Howmet, the exposure is meaningful but cannot be equated with revenue at direct risk. GE Aerospace represented about 14% of first-half 2026 third-party sales, up from 10% a year earlier; RTX represented 10%. Those sales were primarily from Engine Products. The filings do not disclose which GE products overlap CPP, which programs are dual-sourced or which contracts could migrate. Howmet also sells forgings, seamless rolled rings, fasteners, titanium structures and forged wheels (Howmet 2026a).
Two demand indicators are rising. Boeing reported 171 commercial-airplane deliveries in the second quarter, a record $715 billion company backlog and more than 6,200 commercial airplanes worth $597 billion. Its 737 program began moving toward 47 aircraft a month (Boeing 2026). US aerospace-products industrial production reached 100.169 in July, 6.3% above the July 2025 reading of 94.272 (Federal Reserve 2026). These figures do not guarantee Howmet's share, but they show why GE would spend heavily to obtain capacity rather than wait for weaker demand to solve the shortage.
CPP can add capacity to a growing pool while giving GE the option to direct future casting work toward a captive supplier. Industry volume may rise as Howmet's bargaining position narrows. Awards, yield and qualification will determine which effect dominates, and the transaction release disclosed none of them.
Howmet earns its premium one qualification at a time
Howmet has four reporting segments. Engine Products makes investment castings, airfoils, seamless rolled rings and other rotating or structural engine parts. Fastening Systems supplies aerospace fasteners and commercial-transportation hardware. Engineered Structures produces titanium mill products, forgings, extrusions and machined assemblies. Forged Wheels sells aluminum wheels for trucks, buses and trailers.
Engine Products is the economic centre. In the second quarter of 2026 it produced $1.37 billion of revenue and $517 million of adjusted EBITDA, a 37.7% margin. Revenue rose 32% year on year and margin widened by 470 basis points. Howmet added about 485 net employees in the segment during the quarter to support higher output. Fastening Systems produced $589 million of revenue and a 30.1% adjusted EBITDA margin after absorbing the CAM and Brunner acquisitions (Howmet 2026b).
Those margins come from more than patent ownership. Howmet's 2025 filing says many products can be made by competitors using similar processes. It names Berkshire Hathaway's Precision Castparts, ATI, VSMPO and several fastening specialists among its rivals. Patents and trade secrets help, but the filing does not claim an unassailable legal monopoly (Howmet 2025).
The stronger protection is operational. Qualification links a particular design to a particular manufacturing process and plant. Customers care about alloy chemistry, grain structure, fatigue life, yield and delivery performance. A supplier that has already learned the failure modes on a live engine program owns knowledge that is hard to reproduce quickly, even when a rival understands the metallurgy. Long-term contracts then convert that accumulated process knowledge into recurring production and spare-part revenue.
Howmet's filing also says competition is substantial, that many products can be made through similar or alternative processes and that several large customers have captive superalloy furnaces. Financial evidence, rather than an assumption that rivals cannot enter, supports the current advantage. Howmet increased prices faster than material and inflation pass-through in 2024 and 2025, while cost of goods sold fell from 71.9% of sales in 2023 to 68.9% in 2024 and 65.8% in 2025. Volume, price and productivity all contributed. That pattern is stronger than a story based on shortages alone because margins improved while the company hired and spent for expansion (Howmet 2025).
CPP ownership weakens one edge of this system. GE can coordinate design and manufacturing inside one corporate boundary. It can put capital behind a process without negotiating with an outside supplier, then reserve the resulting capacity for its own programs. But qualification still protects current Howmet positions, and CPP itself needs time, labor and acceptable yields to turn spending into certified parts.
Owner cash rose from $250 million to $1.79 billion
The reported history shows why a supplier transaction could erase $11 billion from Howmet and still leave a $92.33 billion company. Revenue grew 66% from 2021 through 2025 and 83% through the latest twelve months, while operating income more than tripled. The operating margin rose from 15.0% in 2021 to 24.8% in 2025, then reached 27.4% on the latest-twelve-month figures.
| USD millions, except returns | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | LTM Q2 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 4,972 | 5,663 | 6,640 | 7,430 | 8,252 | 9,117 |
| Operating income | 748 | 919 | 1,203 | 1,633 | 2,046 | 2,495 |
| Net income | 258 | 469 | 765 | 1,155 | 1,508 | 1,871 |
| Operating cash flow | 449 | 733 | 901 | 1,298 | 1,884 | 2,221 |
| Capital expenditure | 199 | 193 | 219 | 321 | 453 | 430 |
| OCF less capex, author-computed | 250 | 540 | 682 | 977 | 1,431 | 1,791 |
| Computed ROIC | 8.4% | 10.4% | 13.5% | 17.9% | 21.6% | 22.7% |
| Net debt, author-computed | 3,512 | 3,371 | 3,096 | 2,751 | 2,308 | 3,938 |
Source: Howmet 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026a. The latest-twelve-month row adds the six months to June 2026 and subtracts the comparable 2025 period. OCF less capex and net debt are author calculations. ROIC is after-tax operating profit divided by average invested capital, using a 21% tax rate; the first year uses ending invested capital.
Computed ROIC rose because profit expanded faster than the capital base. In 2022, after-tax operating profit was about $726 million on average invested capital of $7.00 billion. By 2025 it was $1.62 billion on $7.48 billion. From 2022 to 2025, incremental after-tax operating profit of about $890 million divided by the $689 million increase in ending invested capital produces a 129% incremental return. That number is arithmetically correct but not a steady-state promise. Debt reduction, customer advances, existing spare capacity and the timing of expansion projects all make the denominator unusually favorable.
The latest-twelve-month 22.7% return also needs a qualification. Howmet borrowed for the $1.8 billion CAM acquisition in April 2026, lifting ending invested capital before a full year of CAM earnings appears in the numerator. Using average invested capital reduces the mismatch, but does not remove it. The next two annual reports will give a cleaner reading of the acquired return.
Free cash flow reached $1.79 billion, but guidance still costs 49 times
For 2025, the owner-cash bridge starts with $1.884 billion of operating cash flow. Subtract $453 million of capital expenditure and the result is $1.431 billion. The company spent much of the capex on Engine Products capacity, automation and other return-seeking projects, so this strict subtraction treats growth spending as if all of it were required merely to stand still. That makes the figure conservative as a measure of current earning power, but honest as a measure of cash left after the actual plant spending (Howmet 2025).
On a latest-twelve-month basis, operating cash flow was $2.221 billion and capex was $430 million, leaving $1.791 billion. Howmet's August update raised its own FY2026 free-cash-flow range to $1.85 billion to $1.95 billion after second-quarter free cash flow of $479 million. Management also lifted the midpoint of FY2026 revenue to $10.05 billion and adjusted EPS to $5.27 (Howmet 2026b).
At $231.53, the equity is valued at 48.6 times the midpoint of that company free-cash-flow range and 43.9 times guided adjusted EPS. The figures are not identical measures. Adjusted EPS removes selected items, while free cash flow can move with customer advances and working capital. Both say the same thing about expectations: the post-fall valuation still capitalises years of growth.
Capital allocation has become more aggressive at the same time. Howmet repurchased about 4.4 million shares for $700 million in 2025. It had spent $800 million on repurchases through July 2026 and increased the third-quarter dividend by 17% to $0.14 a share. Those uses compete with expansion capex and CAM debt reduction. Repurchases retire more stock when the price is low; at a cash multiple near 49 times, they also consume a large amount of current cash for each dollar of annual cash flow removed from the share count.
The spending order now carries more risk than it did when net debt was falling. The company can fund plants, repay CAM borrowing, pay dividends and repurchase shares, but each claim reduces room for the others. A valuation that assumes fast organic expansion gives little credit for a capital-allocation mistake.
CAM made the balance sheet larger before CPP arrived
Howmet paid about $1.8 billion for Consolidated Aerospace Manufacturing in April. CAM expanded Fastening Systems, adding aerospace fasteners and components, and contributed to the segment's 37% second-quarter revenue growth. The acquisition is strategically adjacent. It also reversed four years of balance-sheet repair.
Net debt fell from an author-computed $3.51 billion at the end of 2021 to $2.31 billion at the end of 2025. By June 2026, cash was $563 million, long-term debt including the current portion was $4.051 billion, and short-term borrowings were $450 million. Net debt had risen to $3.94 billion (Howmet 2026a).
That is not a solvency problem against $2.50 billion of latest-twelve-month operating income and the company's cash forecast. It does change the margin for error. More capacity spending is planned for 2027, the CAM purchase must earn an acceptable return, and share repurchases have accelerated. A downturn in build rates or a slow CAM integration would place those cash demands in the same period.
Management said second-quarter CAM integration was on track and expected cash generation to restore pre-CAM leverage in short order (Howmet 2026b).
Net debt moving back toward $2.3 billion while capex rises and operating results remain strong is the relevant test. If debt stays near $4 billion through FY2027, the acquisition and expansion program will have consumed more of Howmet's cash generation than the market currently assumes.
GE's 14% revenue share is the vulnerable edge
Qualification and process knowledge remain intact. They are visible in rising margins, recurring engine-spares demand and the cost of a failed production transfer. Howmet also has exposure across commercial aerospace, defense, gas turbines and transportation. That diversity makes a single customer's vertical integration less damaging than the share-price reaction implies.
Casting scarcity at GE is now eroding as a moat source. GE represented about 11% of 2025 sales and 14% of first-half 2026 sales, and has committed $11.75 billion to controlling an alternative. The 26-times multiple before expected integration benefits shows how urgently GE values the bottleneck. A captive CPP can obtain design information earlier, align plant spending with GE's engine roadmap and keep future process gains inside GE.
GE's high price confirms that casting capacity is scarce, while its expansion plan may increase total output. The 26-times multiple validates some of the economics that built Howmet's margins. GE also says it intends to expand output, not simply redistribute a fixed book. If demand for airfoils rises more than 30% by 2030, CPP can grow while Howmet keeps substantial content. The risk is less about next quarter's volume than the allocation of the next generation of parts.
Operating margin, cash conversion and debt all improved through 2025. Yet the board's current capital program sets a more complicated test: integrate CAM and expand capacity without sacrificing yield or delaying debt repayment, even while repurchasing stock. The operational record earns credibility. It does not remove the need to measure each use of cash.
A $231.53 share price requires 16.6% annual cash growth
A simple earnings frame puts the post-fall price at 43.9 times the midpoint of Howmet's FY2026 adjusted-EPS range. That multiple can persist only if the company keeps converting aerospace scarcity into earnings growth and if the terminal valuation remains high. A conventional mature-industrial multiple would produce a much lower figure.
A cash-flow model makes the embedded expectation explicit. Starting with $1.90 billion, the midpoint of company FY2026 free-cash-flow guidance, a ten-year equity DCF reaches $231.53 only if cash grows about 16.6% every year for a decade, assuming a 9% discount rate and 3% perpetual growth. This is a reverse calculation, not a forecast. It also gives full credit to reported free cash flow and does not deduct an economic charge for stock compensation.
The sensitivity is severe because so much value lies far in the future:
| Ten-year annual cash growth | 8% discount rate | 9% discount rate | 10% discount rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10% | $171 | $140 | $118 |
| 14% | $233 | $190 | $159 |
| 18% | $318 | $257 | $213 |
Source: author-computed equity DCF using $1.90 billion starting free cash flow, 398.801 million shares and 3% terminal growth. Values are rounded.
The scenario ranges use FY2027 adjusted EPS because investors commonly value high-margin aerospace suppliers on earnings, then cross-check those results against cash. The severe case applies 22 to 26 times about $4.60 of author-estimated FY2027 EPS, producing $100 to $120. The bear case applies 28 to 32 times about $5.20, producing $145 to $170. Both assume GE's ownership of CPP reduces future awards or bargaining power.
The base case applies 34 to 38 times about $6.30, producing $210 to $240. It assumes current program positions remain intact, commercial, defense and gas-turbine volumes rise, and CAM contributes without a prolonged debt burden. The post-fall price sits near the upper edge of this range.
The bull case applies 40 to 46 times about $7.30, producing $290 to $335. It requires CPP to expand the total casting pool without taking material Howmet content, sustained Engine Products margins and quick balance-sheet repair. This case preserves most of the scarcity premium that existed before the announcement.
These ranges do not converge on a single intrinsic figure. They show that business performance and valuation are separate questions. Howmet can keep reporting excellent operating results while the equity falls if the market lowers the multiple attached to those results.
GE sourcing, engine margins and CAM debt set the range
The severe downside is a share-loss story. GE uses CPP to win new programs, moves more spare-part production inside and obtains regulatory approval for transfers faster than expected. Industry build rates then soften. Howmet's fixed-cost absorption and pricing both weaken, while CAM debt remains. The $100 to $120 range reflects lower earnings and a normal industrial multiple.
The bear case preserves existing qualifications but removes the shortage premium. Howmet still grows, though GE directs incremental airfoil capacity to CPP and customer negotiations become less favorable. FY2027 adjusted EPS reaches about $5.20, close to the current FY2026 range, and the equity settles at $145 to $170.
The base case treats CPP as an addition to a constrained system. GE secures supply, total engine output rises and Howmet retains its qualified content across GE, RTX and other programs. Engine Products absorbs new staff without giving back most of its margin gains. CAM contributes, debt declines and author-estimated FY2027 adjusted EPS reaches about $6.30. The resulting $210 to $240 range contains the current price, but not the pre-event close.
The bull case requires two engines of value. Aerospace and gas-turbine demand stay strong enough for CPP and Howmet to fill added capacity, while Howmet's process gains keep adjusted margins near recent levels. Fastening acquisitions add cash without diverting management. At roughly $7.30 of FY2027 adjusted EPS and a 40 to 46 times multiple, the range is $290 to $335.
Across all four cases, the transaction does not determine Howmet's value by itself. It changes the probability of future share, pricing and margin outcomes. The 10.70% fall looks roughly proportionate as a reset from an unusually demanding starting multiple, even though the operating evidence does not yet show lost business.
Program awards can move before the 2027 closing
Customer share will distinguish diversification from displacement. Howmet's future filings need to show whether a lower GE percentage reflects faster growth elsewhere or lost absolute content. A lower GE revenue percentage can be healthy if other customers grow faster. It is adverse if GE awards move to CPP and Howmet's absolute GE revenue or engine content falls. New-program announcements, customer-concentration disclosure and Engine Products growth will reveal the difference before the expected second-half 2027 close.
Engine Products' 37.7% adjusted EBITDA margin is the next test. That figure carries strong price, mix and production execution. Howmet is adding workers and capacity, which normally creates training and yield costs before revenue arrives. Two quarters below 34% while aerospace volumes keep rising would indicate that the operating advantage is absorbing more friction than the valuation allows. Holding near current levels through the next four reports would support the base and bull economics.
CAM makes cash generation another test. FY2026 free cash flow below $1.85 billion, or net debt still above $3.5 billion at FY2027, would challenge management's claim of a quick return to pre-CAM leverage. The cash test includes higher 2027 capex, so it is more informative than an adjusted earnings number alone.
The GE-CPP timetable remains an external variable. Regulatory remedies, a revised price, delayed closing or a narrower integration plan would alter the competitive effect. The current market price assumes a signed deal becomes an operating strategy. The gap between those two stages is where most of the evidence will arrive.
Source notes and confidence
The trigger was checked against GE's 8 September release and independent same-day reporting from CNBC. A Nasdaq API snapshot retrieved during this run shows the $231.53 close, $259.27 prior close and 10.699% decline; Howmet's 10-Q reports 398.801 million shares outstanding on 3 August. The public Nasdaq history page timed out in the final automated source check, so verification is partial rather than full. The market-cap loss, computed ROIC, net debt, OCF-less-capex figures, latest-twelve-month row, DCF and scenario values are author calculations from the cited inputs.
Five annual filings and the June 2026 10-Q support the financial history. Company guidance and segment adjusted EBITDA come from Howmet's August results release. Boeing's backlog and the Federal Reserve production index provide demand context, not proof of Howmet's future orders.
The evidence does not disclose CPP's customer-by-customer revenue, overlap with each Howmet part number, GE's intended allocation of new programs, Howmet's contract renewal calendar or the split between maintenance and growth capex. Those gaps prevent a precise estimate of revenue at risk. The next proof will come from GE program awards, two consecutive Engine Products margins below 34%, and whether net debt remains above $3.5 billion at FY2027.
References
- Boeing 2026. Second-quarter results, commercial deliveries and backlog, 28 July 2026.
- CNBC 2026. Independent report on GE Aerospace's CPP acquisition, 8 September 2026.
- Federal Reserve 2026. US aerospace products and parts industrial-production series, updated 18 August 2026.
- GE Aerospace 2026. Announcement of the $11.75 billion CPP acquisition, 8 September 2026.
- Howmet 2021. Howmet Aerospace Inc. 2021 Form 10-K.
- Howmet 2022. Howmet Aerospace Inc. 2022 Form 10-K.
- Howmet 2023. Howmet Aerospace Inc. 2023 Form 10-K.
- Howmet 2024. Howmet Aerospace Inc. 2024 Form 10-K.
- Howmet 2025. Howmet Aerospace Inc. 2025 Form 10-K.
- Howmet 2026a. Howmet Aerospace Inc. Form 10-Q for the six months ended 30 June 2026.
- Howmet 2026b. Howmet Aerospace second-quarter 2026 results release.
- Nasdaq 2026. HWM close and historical market data for 8 September 2026.
- SEC 2026a. Company ticker record for Howmet Aerospace Inc.